Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


Rt Hon Liam Byrne

Birmingham, Hodge Hill


Rt Hon Liam Byrne was born Liam Dominic Byrne on 02 October 1970 in Warrington, England and is the Labour MP for Birmingham, Hodge Hill.

Rt Hon Liam Byrne ceased to be a member of the House of Commons on 03 May 2017 (general election).


In the past, Liam Byrne has held the position of Chief Secretary to the Treasury (2009 to 2010), Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster (2008 to 2009), Minister of State (HM Treasury) (also in the Home Office) (2008 to 2008), Minister of State (Regional Affairs) (West Midlands) (2007 to 2008), Minister of State (Home Office) (Borders and Immigration) (2007 to 2008), Minister of State (Home Office) (Immigration and Asylum) (2007 to 2007), Minister of State (Home Office) (Immigration, Citizenship and Nationality) (2006 to 2007), Minister of State (Home Office) (2006 to 2006), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health) (Care Services) (2005 to 2006) in government.

He was Shadow Minister (Business, Innovation and Skills) (2013 to 2015), Shadow Secretary of State for Work and Pensions (2011 to 2013), Shadow Minister (Cabinet Office) (2010 to 2011), Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury (2010 to 2010) in opposition.


Liam Byrne has the following specific interests :
Politics - Anti-social behaviour, drugs, social policy, welfare reform, youth policy
Countries - China, Kashmir