Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


The Rt Hon. the Viscount Thurso

Excepted Hereditary


The Rt Hon. the Viscount Thurso was born John Thurso on 10 September 1953 , and is a Liberal Democrat Excepted Hereditary peer sitting in the House of Lords since 20 April 2016. He previously sat in the House Of Commons as MP for Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross.


He was Shadow Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills (2008 to 2010), Shadow Secretary of State for Transport (2003 to 2005), Shadow Spokesperson (Scotland) (2001 to 2006), Shadow Spokesperson (Culture, Media and Sport) (2001 to 2005), Opposition Whip (Commons) (2001 to 2002) in opposition.

Focus Areas

Viscount Thurso has the following focus areas :
Politics - Tourism, House of Lords reform, treasury, financial services and banking reform, energy

You can contact Viscount Thurso in the following ways:




House of Lords, SW1A 0PW

Phone : 020 7219 5353

Email : contactholmember@parliament.uk