Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


The Rt Hon. the Earl of Caithness

Excepted Hereditary


The Rt Hon. the Earl of Caithness was born Malcolm Sinclair on 03 November 1948 , and is a Conservative Excepted Hereditary peer sitting in the House of Lords since 02 December 1969.


Currently sitting on the Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006 Committee (since June 2017), The Earl of Caithness does not chair at this time.

He has in the past sat on Communications Committee (May 2016 to Apr 2017), EU Financial Affairs Sub-Committee (Jun 2015 to May 2016), European Union Committee (Jun 2014 to May 2016), EU Sub Committee A - Economic and Financial Affairs (May 2013 to Mar 2015), EU Sub Committee D - Agriculture, Fisheries, Environment and Energy (May 2012 to May 2013), EU Sub-Committee D - Agriculture, Fisheries and Environment (May 2010 to May 2012), EU Sub-Committee D - Environment and Agriculture (Dec 2008 to Apr 2010), EU Sub-Committee F - Home Affairs (Dec 2003 to Nov 2007), Procedure Committee (Lords) (Nov 2002 to Nov 2004), Procedure Committee (Lords) (Jun 1997 to Nov 2004), House of Lords Offices Committee (Jun 1997 to Nov 2000), Procedure Committee (Lords) (Jul 1987 to Oct 1991), Consolidation Bills (Joint Committee) (Jun 1979 to Oct 1984), EU Sub-Committee D (May 1979 to Feb 1982), EU Sub-Committee G (Mar 1979 to Dec 1979).


In the past, The Earl of Caithness has held the position of Minister of State (Transport) (Railways and Roads) (1992 to 1994), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Transport) (1985 to 1986) in government.

You can contact The Earl of Caithness in the following ways:


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW

Phone : 020 7219 5353

Fax : 020 7219 5979

Email : contactholmember@parliament.uk