Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP

Leeds Central


Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP was born Hilary James Benn on 26 November 1953 in Hammersmith, England and is the Labour MP for Leeds Central.


In the past, Hilary Benn has held the position of Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (2007 to 2010), Secretary of State for International Development (2003 to 2007), Minister of State (Department for International Development) (2003 to 2003), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Home Office) (Minister for Prisons and Probation) (2002 to 2003), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for International Development) (2001 to 2002) in government.

He was Shadow Foreign Secretary (2015 to 2016), Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government (2011 to 2015), Shadow Leader of the House of Commons (2010 to 2011), Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (2010 to 2010) in opposition.


Hilary Benn has the following specific interests :
Politics - International development, home affairs, education, employment, trade unions, environment, urban policy, local government
Countries - Democratic Republic of the Congo, Sudan, USA

You can contact Hilary Benn in the following ways:


Suite 7, Unity Business Centre, 26 Roundhay Road, Leeds, LS7 1AB

Phone : 0113 244 1097

Email : boxj@parliament.uk


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

Phone : 020 7219 5770

Email : bennh@parliament.uk