Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


The Rt Hon. the Baroness Smith of Basildon

Life peer


The Rt Hon. the Baroness Smith of Basildon was born Angela Smith on 07 January 1959 , and is a Labour Life peer sitting in the House of Lords since 07 July 2010. She previously sat in the House Of Commons as MP for Basildon.


Currently sitting on the House of Lords Commission (since September 2016), Procedure Committee (Lords) (since June 2015), Privileges and Conduct, Committee for (Lords) (since June 2015), Selection, Committee of (Lords) (since May 2015), Baroness Smith of Basildon does not chair at this time.

She has in the past sat on Palace of Westminster (Joint Committee) (Jul 2015 to Apr 2017), Liaison Committee (Lords) (Jun 2015 to Dec 2015), House Committee (Lords) (Jun 2015 to Dec 2015).


Baroness Smith of Basildon is currently Shadow Leader of the House of Lords, an opposition position she has held since May 2015.

In the past, Baroness Smith of Basildon has held the position of Minister of State (Cabinet Office) (Third Sector) (2009 to 2010), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Communities and Local Government) (Planning) (2006 to 2007), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Northern Ireland Office) (2002 to 2006), Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) (2001 to 2002) in government.

She was Shadow Spokesperson (Home Affairs) (2012 to 2015), Opposition Deputy Chief Whip (Lords) (2012 to 2015), Shadow Spokesperson (Northern Ireland) (2011 to 2012), Shadow Spokesperson (Energy and Climate Change) (2010 to 2013) in opposition.

You can contact Baroness Smith of Basildon in the following ways:


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW

Phone : 0207 219 5353

Fax : 0207 219 5979

Email : contactholmember@parliament.uk