Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


Derek Twigg MP



Derek Twigg MP was born John Derek Twigg on 09 July 1959 in Whiston, England and is the Labour MP for Halton.


Currently sitting on the Liaison Committee (Commons) (since September 2015), Derek Twigg chairs the Statutory Instruments (Select Committee) (July 2015), Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee) (July 2015).

He has in the past sat on Committees on Arms Export Controls (formerly Quadripartite Committee) (Jul 2013 to Nov 2014), Defence Committee (Jun 2013 to Mar 2015), Draft Voting Eligibility (Prisoners) Bill (Mar 2013 to Dec 2013), Children, Schools and Families (Jan 2009 to May 2010), Public Accounts Committee (Nov 1998 to Jun 1999).


In the past, Derek Twigg has held the position of Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Ministry of Defence) (Veterans) (2006 to 2008), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Transport) (2005 to 2006), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Education and Skills) (Schools) (2004 to 2005), Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip) (2003 to 2004), Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) (2002 to 2003) in government.

He was Shadow Minister (Health) (2010 to 2011) in opposition.


Derek Twigg has the following specific interests :
Politics - Economy, education, health and poverty, defence

You can contact Derek Twigg in the following ways:




House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA

Phone : 020 7219 1039

Fax : 020 7219 3642

Email : derek.twigg.mp@parliament.uk


Bridge Business Centre, Suite E, Cheshire House, Gorsey Lane, Widnes, Cheshire, WA8 0RP, (Please send post to House of Commons)

Phone : 0151 424 7030