Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


The Rt Hon. the Lord Young of Cookham CH

Life peer


The Rt Hon. the Lord Young of Cookham CH was born George Young on 16 July 1941 , and is a Conservative Life peer sitting in the House of Lords since 29 September 2015. He previously sat in the House Of Commons as MP for North West Hampshire and Ealing Acton.


Lord Young of Cookham is currently Lords Spokesperson (Cabinet Office), a government position he has held since January 2017.

In addition to this role, he is also Lord in Waiting (HM Household) (Whip).

In the past, Lord Young of Cookham has held the position of Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury and Chief Whip (2012 to 2014), Leader of the House of Commons and Lord Privy Seal (2010 to 2012), Secretary of State for Transport (1995 to 1997), Financial Secretary (HM Treasury) (1994 to 1995), Minister (Department of Environment) (Housing) (1990 to 1994), Comptroller (HM Household) (Deputy Chief Whip, House of Commons) (1990 to 1990), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Environment) (1981 to 1986), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health and Social Security) (1979 to 1981) in government.

He was Shadow Leader of the House of Commons (2009 to 2010), Shadow Secretary of State (1999 to 2000), Shadow Leader of the House of Commons (1998 to 2000), Shadow Secretary of State for Defence (1997 to 1998) in opposition.

Focus Areas

Lord Young of Cookham has the following focus areas :
Politics - Housing, disability, health education, constitutional reform

You can contact Lord Young of Cookham in the following ways:


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW

Phone : 020 7219 5353

Email : contactholmember@parliament.uk