Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


The Rt Hon. the Lord Lamont of Lerwick

Life peer


The Rt Hon. the Lord Lamont of Lerwick was born Norman Stewart Hughson Lamont on 08 May 1942 , and is a Conservative Life peer sitting in the House of Lords since 24 July 1998. He previously sat in the House Of Commons as MP for Kingston upon Thames.


Currently sitting on the Economic Affairs Committee (since June 2015), Lord Lamont of Lerwick does not chair at this time.

He has in the past sat on EU Sub Committee C - External Affairs (May 2012 to Mar 2015), EU Sub-Committee C - Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Policy (Jun 2010 to May 2012), Economic Affairs Committee (Nov 2004 to Nov 2008), European Union Committee (Dec 1999 to Nov 2003), EU Sub-Committee A (Dec 1999 to Nov 2003), Public Accounts Committee (Jun 1986 to Jul 1989), Procedure Committee (Nov 1978 to Jun 1983).


In the past, Lord Lamont of Lerwick has held the position of Chancellor of the Exchequer (1990 to 1993), Chief Secretary to the Treasury (1989 to 1990), Financial Secretary (HM Treasury) (1986 to 1989), Minister of State (Ministry of Defence) (Procurement) (1985 to 1986), Minister of State (Department of Trade and Industry) (1983 to 1985), Minister of State (Department of Industry) (1981 to 1983), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Energy) (1979 to 1981) in government.

You can contact Lord Lamont of Lerwick in the following ways:


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW

Phone : 020 7219 5353

Fax : 020 7219 5979

Email : contactholmember@parliament.uk