Disclaimer In this beta version data has been captured from the initial report of proceedings (Hansard) which can be subsequently corrected, therefore it cannot be guaranteed to be 100% accurate. At this time deferred divisions are not included in the data sets. We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to use the site you agree to our use of cookies.
Thank you for you feedback!


The Rt Hon. the Lord Howell of Guildford

Life peer


The Rt Hon. the Lord Howell of Guildford was born David Arthur Russell Howell on 18 January 1936 , and is a Conservative Life peer sitting in the House of Lords since 06 June 1997. He previously sat in the House Of Commons as MP for Guildford.


In the past, Lord Howell of Guildford has held the position of Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) (International Energy Policy) (2010 to 2012), Secretary of State for Transport (1981 to 1983), Secretary of State for Energy (1979 to 1981), Minister of State (Department of Energy) (1974 to 1974), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Northern Ireland Office) (1972 to 1972), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Employment) (1971 to 1972), Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip) (1970 to 1971), Parliamentary Secretary (Civil Service Department) (1970 to 1972) in government.

He was Shadow Deputy Leader of the House of Lords (2005 to 2010), Shadow Minister (Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs) (2000 to 2010), Shadow Minister (Business, Innovation and Skills) (1977 to 1979) in opposition.

Focus Areas

Lord Howell of Guildford has the following focus areas :
Policy Interests - Business, industry and consumers; Economy and finance; Energy and environment; European Union; Parliament, government and politics; Commonwealth; International energy security; UK-Japan; all railway issues; all Middle East issues; International development Banking; Internet and cyber issues
World Areas - Japan; Central Europe; Africa; South-Eastern Asia; Poland

You can contact Lord Howell of Guildford in the following ways:


House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW

Phone : 020 7219 5353

Fax : 020 7219 5979

Email : contactholmember@parliament.uk